Taylor’s secret Z-bracing

5 thoughts on “Taylor’s secret Z-bracing”

  1. Personally, I have never been that impressed by Taylor guitars though I dare say they must be doing something right for many people to buy them. This whole bracing malarkey I cannot be one hundred per cent if it works or not but obviously, it’s used for structural supporting purposes. When it comes to acoustic guitars I certainly have never heard any of them sound as LOUD! as a Martin and I do believe they are a company that is forever bragging about their bracing technique.

    I certainly would not put Takamines and Yamahas out of the equation because they also make guitars that go into the 3K price range as well. But like most models, they also make a budget and mid tear range also. Personally, I think 800 to 1400 Euro will get you a top quality sounding acoustic guitar. Anything higher in price the diminishing returns will get lower and lower.

    1. The last paragraph of this article was an April’s fool 🙂 I was inspired to write this article, because I have tested a Taylor in the 3k price-range and it was really a bad experience, though the basic sound of the guitar was really nice. But the fretwork and set-up was horrible, especially for this price. It goes back to the shop, but I will write a critical review next month about it. I would like to try a Martin, but the traditional models like the D-28 are even more expensive than this Taylor and in the same league like a Gibson J-200. The next guitar, which will arrive here is in the price-range, which you are recommending, and I am curious, if it can beat the Taylor. I am not in a hurry to buy a new acoustic, so I will spend probably some time to find the right one.

      1. Personally, I would forget about vintage guitars and go for something around the 800 – 1400 Euro mark but if choosing a Martin you will have to spend around 2-3 grand. But certainly don’t underestimate Yamaha’s ARE LL range they are Gorgeous.

Leave a comment